Different states in the USA have specific laws regarding planting and selling of Cannabis. You cannot just grow marijuana in your backyard and sell them for a profit; conducts like these may cause legal trouble, and one might end up behind the bars. Therefore, it is advisable to go through the laws of the state, to avoid committing any crime while purchasing weed for medical and recreational purpose.
Why should you consume weed?
Cannabis buds contain substances such as THC and CBD that provides one with a psychedelic high. Weed strains are used in various herbal products to enhance quality. People use Canna-oil to reduce chronic pain in the body. Those who are not comfortable smoking weed may consume edible CBD gummies. The reason for consuming weed is endless, but before you make the substance a part of your daily routine, consult with a physician to know the form of weed suited best for your needs.
Arkansas Weed Laws:
1. Medical Usage: In Arkansas, medical marijuana is legal. If you want to access cannabis for medical usage, you must obtain a marijuana card that allows the patients and the family members to receive the substance from a dispensary. You may visit any medical marijuana dispensary in Fayetteville AR, to access marijuana for medical purpose.
2. Recreational Usage: Weed consumption for recreational purpose is, however, not permitted in the state. In 2020 an initiative was taken to make the recreational use of marijuana legal, but unfortunately, not enough signatures were generated to pass the bill. The issue may be revisited before the 2022 election cycle.
- If one is found in possession of illegal marijuana, a fine and jail-time are to be expected. For the possession of less than 4-ounces of illegal marijuana, one will face one to six years of jail time and from $2500 to $6000 fine.
- Possession of more than 4 oz of marijuana is considered a felony and could make one end up in jail for up to 30 years. The fine could also range from $2500 to a whopping $15,000.
- Driving under the influence of any substance is a crime. Therefore, just as you should not drunk-drive, you should also not drive under the influence of weed.
3. Weed Trafficking & Cultivation: If one is caught with the intent of delivery, he may face similar consequences. It does not matter if the person making the delivery was to benefit from the transaction or not; the act is a class-A misdemeanor and is punishable by up to one year of jail time.
- Cultivation of weed will be considered as simple possession. Any individual cultivating weed illegally will face grave charges for breaking the state law.
- When one is found with possession of 500 pounds of marijuana or more, it is weed-trafficking. Marijuana trafficking is a serious crime and is considered class Y-felony. The offense will result in a minimum of 10 years of jail time.
There is a list of diseases that allow one to obtain a medical weed card in Arkansas. Any prospective patients can look up the laws and register for a medical marijuana card online. To qualify for the card, the patient must be 18 years or older and diagnosed with any listed medical conditions. He must show his residency proof and have a signed consent form from the doctor’s recommendation.